corn and zucchini quinoa salad

Tomorrow night is the first rehearsal of the season for the Pittsburgh Camerata. This is a professional choir I sing with in the city. We’re having a “rehearsal camp” this weekend, and one of the great things about this group is that besides being great singers, most everyone is a great cook as well. Anyway, we’re having a potluck before rehearsal tomorrow night and I of course have to bring something with lemons in it, so I’m planning to make a corn and zucchini quinoa salad.  The recipe comes from Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food with some substitutions.  I’m using quinoa instead of orzo because I really enjoy the versatility of quinoa, not to mention it’s a very healthy grain and gluten-free for those who need to worry about such things.

ingredients

  • 6 medium zucchini, diced
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1 pound quinoa
  • 4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 6 ears of corn, kernels removed
  • 1 small red onion, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and diced (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon lemon zest
  • juice of 3-4 fresh-squeezed lemons
  • 1 cup fresh basil leaves, torn
  • 2 cups crumbled feta

directions

  1. Place zucchini in a colander and toss with salt. Place colander in sink and let sit 20 minutes. Meanwhile, prepare quinoa according to package instructions (I like to throw it in my rice cooker). The general rule of thumb for cooking quinoa is one part quinoa to two parts water. Transfer to a large bowl after cooking.
  2. In a large skillet, heat 1 tablespoon oil over medium heat. Add corn and cook, stirring occasionally, until just tender, about 4 minutes. Add to quinoa along with zucchini, 3 tablespoons oil, onion, jalapeño (optional), and lemon zest and juice; season with salt and pepper. Stir in basil and feta. You may want to hold off on adding any salt until after you stir in the feta since it can be pretty salty.
2 thoughts on “corn and zucchini quinoa salad

  1. this sounds so good, i just became a vegetarian, so i cant wait to try this! i also just started my own blog, so im super new at this, but my first post was also with quinoa! please check it out if you have a sec, id appreciate any comments/advice!

    • Thanks! I’m not a vegetarian myself, but I do tend to cook a lot of meat-free dishes. I love making huge salads for a meal, especially when my local farmer’s market is in full swing! I just started myself, so I’m pretty new to blogging (case in point, when I went to reply to your comment I accidentally deleted it instead, but I managed to get you back!). My advice is to read lots of food blogs and get ideas from them–good quality pictures are a huge plus! I’m going to add one later today after I make my salad.

Leave a Reply

