cornbread stuffed peppers

Disclaimer: there is no lemon anywhere to be seen in this recipe…but…it’s the first thing I’ve cooked in a while and they turned out beautifully so I thought it was deserving of a picture and a post!

I found some beautiful peppers at my local farmer’s market this weekend. I had some amazing cornbread stuffed peppers at Biba a few weeks ago and thought I would try to recreate them. My cornbread recipe doesn’t even compare, but I thought it was still quite good.20110906-065623.jpg

ingredients

  • 1 box corn muffin mix
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 5 scallions, finely chopped
  • 1 cup finely shredded cheddar cheese
  • 6 medium-sized peppers

directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400ºF.
  • In a medium-size bowl, prepare the cornbread according to package directions. Mix in the scallions and 3/4 cup of the cheese.
  • Line a cookie sheet with wax paper. Fill each pepper with the mix then top each with a sprinkle of the remaining cheese. Bake until cooked through and golden on top, about 15 minutes.
Leave a Reply

