mushroom, potato, barley soup

It’s July and I made soup for dinner. We’ve been having some unseasonably mild weather lately, so I decided to take advantage of the cooler temperatures and make some soup. I have been doing a lot of food blog surfing, looking for good vegan recipes to inspire me and I found a great one here. I made some variations since I wanted to use what I had on hand, and you already know I don’t usually bother with measuring unless absolutely necessary. 

ingredients

10-12 fresh mushrooms, sliced (I used crimini)
small red onion, sliced
medium potato, peeled and cubed
garlic clove, chopped
thyme
rosemary, chopped
1/4 cup quick cooking barley (or pre-cook your own)
3-4 cups mung bean water* (can use water or vegetable broth)
olive oil

directions

Sauté the onion in a pot in some olive oil until translucent. Add the potatoes, rosemary, and thyme, and a little more olive oil and cook about 5 minutes. I wanted to brown my potatoes a bit to get some color and more flavor into them. Stir in the barley and allow it to brown a bit also. I also added about a third of the sliced mushrooms to brown them a little. Add the rest of the mushrooms, garlic, and your liquid. Bring to a boil. Lower the heat and simmer for 10 minutes, or until the potatoes and barley are done. I mashed the potatoes in the pot to thicken the soup. Season with salt and pepper to taste, top with chopped parsley.

Serves 2

20130731-175931.jpg

*What the heck is mung bean water? It’s the water I soaked my mung beans in. I’m in the process of sprouting my own mung bean sprouts (post to follow in a few days), and one of the first steps is to soak the beans in water for 8-12 hours. The website I’m following for sprouting instructions said that this water could be used for stock since it’s full of nutrients. So there you have it.

One thought on “mushroom, potato, barley soup

Leave a Reply

