bananas foster baked oatmeal

20130802-202022.jpg

Tonight was a breakfast for dinner kind of night. I don’t generally like to spend a lot of time preparing breakfast in the morning, so something that takes 40 minutes to bake isn’t going to happen, not even on a Saturday. Breakfast for dinner is the perfect opportunity to make something that takes a while to cook and usually isn’t too complicated. I find breakfast dishes to be comforting so it’s nice to eat them in the evening when I have time to really enjoy them. I didn’t plan on making this for dinner tonight, but things don’t usually go according to plan in my house. I adapted this recipe to what I had in my pantry, and I actually measured for a change since I’ve never baked oatmeal before. Mine isn’t as pretty as the original recipe because I forgot to layer bananas on top, and I didn’t bother with topping it with anything fancy for the photo since I wanted to hurry up and eat it! 

bananas foster baked oatmeal

ingredients

1 cup quick cooking rolled oats

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup pecans, chopped

1 can (13.5 oz) coconut milk (about 1 3/4 cups)

3 bananas, peeled and sliced

1 tbsp coconut oil

1 tbsp maple syrup

2 tbsp dark rum

1 tsp vanilla extract

directions

Preheat oven to 350F. In a large bowl, add the oats, cinnamon, baking powder, pecans, and coconut milk. Stir until combined and set aside.

In a skillet over medium heat, add the coconut oil, maple syrup, and rum, and stir to combine. When it begins to bubble, add the bananas and coat them in the mixture. Sprinkle a dash of cinnamon and sauté for about 5 minutes until the bananas begin to soften. Remove from the heat and add the vanilla extract.

Stir the banana mixture into the oatmeal and pour into a greased 9-inch baking dish. Bake uncovered for 40-45 minutes until golden brown. The top will harden a little bit, while the inside will be warm and gooey.

You can make another batch of the bananas foster mixture to pour on top if you like. Can be served hot right out of the oven or cold the next day for breakfast.

Serves: 4

Leave a Reply

